IBMA: Dailey & Vincent Honored With Five International Bluegrass Music Awards

Dailey & Vincent, Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper, Adam Steffey, The Gibson Brothers and Russell Moore Receive Multiple Awards

NASHVILLE, TN — The 21st Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards, hosted by Sharon and Cheryl White and Jerry Douglas, was broadcast live on Sirius XM from Nashville, Tennessee’s historic Ryman Auditorium on September 30, 2010. Dailey & Vincent took home top honors with their third consecutive award for Entertainer of the Year.

Dailey & Vincent were also recipients of their third straight Vocal Group of the Year award, their second award for Album of the Year for
“Dailey & Vincent Sing the Statler Brothers,” Recorded Event of the Year with Larry Stephenson for “Give This Message to Your Heart” and Best Graphic Design for Recorded Project (“Dailey & Vincent Sing the Statler Brothers”), awarded to Cracker Barrel’s Julie Craig in an earlier ceremony.

Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper received three awards, including Instrumental Group of the Year, Cleveland’s eighth Fiddle Player of
the Year award and Marshall Wilborn’s second consecutive award for Bass Player of the Year.

Adam Steffey accepted two awards, including his seventh Mandolin Player of the Year award and Instrumental Recorded Performance of the
Year for “Durang’s Hornpipe.” The Gibson Brothers were recognized with two honors, their first since 1998, with “Ring the Bell” for
Song of the Year and Gospel Performance of the Year. Receiving two awards tonight, The Josh Williams Band won Emerging Artist of the
Year and Guitar Player of the Year (Josh Williams).

Other instrumentalist awards included Rob Ickes with his twelfth award for Dobro Player of the Year and The Grascals’ Kristin Scott Benson for her third consecutive honor for Banjo Player of the Year.

R ussell Moore of IIIrd Tyme Out accepted his third award for MaleVocalist of the Year. Claire Lynch received her second award for
Female Vocalist of the Year.

Louise Scruggs and John Hartford were posthumously inducted into the Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame. The IBMA’s Distinguished Achievement
Award honorees were Benjamin F. “Tex” Logan, Sherry Boyd, Lynn Morris, Richard Weize and Pete “Dr. Banjo” Wernick.

It was an evening of heartfelt and humorous moments, surprise guests and honors for a diverse mix of new artists and longtime favorites.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s